Port of Lopez Commission

Commission members are:

 Position 1 Kenn Aufderhar
 Position 3 Paul Henriksen
 Position 2 Steve Adams
Rick Hoffman Airport Manager

Commissioners’ Responsibilities:

Port districts in Washington are unique: they are governed by an elected commission, independent of other local jurisdictions. On Lopez there are three commissioners elected to four-year terms. Lopez commissioners are at-large positions.

Port commissions establish long-term strategies for a port district, and create policies to guide the development, growth, and operation of the port. They are also responsible for a port’s annual budgets, approving tax levy rates, and hiring the professional staff members responsible for a port’s daily functions.

The Port of Lopez is unique: Since it’s inception the Port has operated successfully with minimal paid staff, saving the taxpayer the high cost of salaries.  The elected Port commissioners share responsibility for daily management of the Port.

  • (360) 468-4116
  • PO Box 907
  • Lopez Island, WA 98261

View minutes from past meetings